St A’s Prayer Room. Day 22: Joy

March 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

Day 22:

“He has taken me to the banquet hall and his banner over me is love.” – Song of Songs 2:4

These past few weeks have been a time of reflection, a time of learning, a time of waiting and a time of revelation. Crazy early morning worship sessions, late afternoon Holy Spirit anointing, simple chats with my Maker. This is what the prayer room has been about: meeting with God; gaining intimacy with the one and only being who knows me completely, inside and out. Yesterday, three of my friends were praying for me and they all simultaneously began praying about joy. I felt the Holy Spirit right there. A tingling sensation rushed over me, which often happens when I am in the holiness of His presence. I felt the most overwhelming sense of joy.

Pure joy.

“You have made known to me the paths of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence.”Psalm 16:11 and Acts 2:28

I feel as though this verse is particularly poignant for us at the moment. We can often become so caught up in the seriousness and rush of life that we forget about this thing called “joy”. It becomes an ethereal emotion, something which is fleeting and not attainable for everybody. This is a lie of the devil. There is of course a time for gravitas but we are not called to be a people of mourning but a people of gladness.

“Hear the word of the LORD, O nations; proclaim it in distant coastlands: He who scattered Israel will gather them and will watch over his flock like a shepherd.

For the LORD will ransom Jacob and redeem them from the hand of those stronger than they.

They will come and shout for joy on the heights of Zion; they will rejoice in the bounty of the LORD – the grain, the new wine and the oil, the young of the flocks and the herds. They will be like a well-watered garden, and they will sorrow no more.

Then maidens will dance and be glad, young men and old as well. I will turn their mourning into gladness; I will give them comfort and joy instead of sorrow.” – Jeremiah 31:10-13

We have so much to be joyful about! The battle is already won. Praise God! (I particularly like the verse about maidens dancing, but that’s just because I love to dance!) He loves us more than we can ever imagine. He wants to shower gifts and blessings and joy and joy and joy and even more joy on us. All we have to do is allow ourselves to fall in love with Him.

Prayer:

Heavenly Father,

You are beautiful LORD. I thank you for every good and perfect gift that you have given to each one of us. I pray that you will remind us every day of the blessings that you have given us. Even in the midst of suffering, may we be seeking your face. Give us joy in abundance. Fill us to overflowing. And when we are overflowing, make our hearts bigger to receive even more of your love and joy. Help us to prioritise so that we can make time regularly to be with you because in your presence there is fullness of joy. We love you LORD. I pray that you will continue to mould our hearts so that we can fall absolutely in love with you: deeper and deeper and deeper until we are covered in your love.

In Jesus’ precious name,

Amen.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading St A’s Prayer Room. Day 22: Joy at A Call To Stand.

meta